The Four C’s of Diamonds: A Simple Guide

//The Four C’s of Diamonds: A Simple Guide

The Four C’s of Diamonds: A Simple Guide

If you’re thinking about selling your diamond ring, it’s important to understand the 4C’s: cut, clarity, colour, and carat. These factors represent the beauty and structure of your diamond and can affect its selling price. Knowing your 4C’s can help you understand if you’re getting the right price. Here’s a simple guide to understand them.

1. Cut

Cut specifically refers to the quality of a diamond’s proportions and symmetry. Your diamond ring’s cut can make a big difference on how brightly it shines and its aesthetic appeal. A poorly cut diamond can make it appear dull or smaller than it actually is. The GIA grades diamond cut based on the following scale:

  • Ideal
  • Excellent
  • Very Good
  • Good
  • Fair
  • Poor

The ideal cut allows for the maximum brilliance and fire.

Cut refers to the shape of the diamond. There are many different shapes of diamonds, but the most popular ones are:

  • Round brilliant cut
  • Princess cut
  • Pear 
  • Marquise cut
  • Emerald cut
  • Oval shape
  • Heart shape
  • Radiant cut
  • Asscher cut

2. Clarity

Clarity indicates how “clean” a diamond is. Diamonds have inclusions (under the surface) and blemishes (on the surface). Diamonds with the least inclusions receive the highest clarity grades. However, it’s important to note that these inclusions and blemishes are microscopic and cannot be seen by an untrained eye. Because of this, clarity is usually the least important factor among the 4C’s.

The GIA rates clarity on the following scale: FL (Flawless)

  • IF (Internally Flawless)
  • VVS1 (Very, Very Slightly Included 1)
  • VVS2 (Very, Very Slightly Included 2)
  • VS1 (Very Slightly Included 1)
  • VS2 (Very Slightly Included 2)
  • SI1 (Slightly Included 1)
  • SI2 (Slightly Included 2)
  • I1 (Inclusions 1)
  • I2 (Inclusions 2)

3. Colour

The colour of a diamond is the second most important of the 4C’s. A diamond colour refers to how white or colourless a diamond is. The clearer the diamond, the more valuable it is. The prices of diamonds reflect these grades. While you won’t be able to tell the difference between the colour of two diamonds, the price difference may vary greatly.

Colour is graded through a scale that runs from D (completely colourless) to N-Z (colour is very noticeable).

  • D-F – Colorless
  • G-I – Near Colorless
  • J-L – Faint Yellow
  • M-P – Very Light Yellow
  • Q-Z – Light Yellow
  1. Carat

When people hear the term “carat weight”, the first thing that comes to mind is the size of the diamond. In reality, carat actually refers to the weight of the diamond. The higher the number of carats, the more expensive is a diamond ring. One carat is equivalent to exactly 0.2 grams and is calculated according to a points system, with 100 points equivalent to one carat. While many people place an importance in carat weight, what really matters is the diamond’s overall appearance and brilliance. An exceptionally cut one carat diamond will shine more brightly than a poorly cut three carat diamond.

When it comes to selling your diamond ring, keep these 4C’s in mind to get the best price for your jewellery. Looking for where to sell jewellery? Get in touch with the team at Crown Diamonds! We are a trusted diamond buyer in Melbourne with over 15 years of expertise. Sell your diamonds in Melbourne or get a price appraisal by calling us at 03 9645 6465.

By | 2018-12-12T04:43:50+00:00 December 12th, 2018|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment